CBC week brings good things to San Diego

To be honest I hadn’t heard of the Craft Brewers Conference until a few weeks ago. I don’t know much about it but the paper said it happens every two years and draws people from all over the world. What I do know is that many of the better beer bars in San Diego had a series of special brews available all week long (April 14-20) because of it.

I joined the celebration on Tuesday, April 15, by going to O’Brien’s pub. I was delighted to see they had Blind Pig IPA on tap. I’d heard that Blind Pig was one of the original West Coast-style IPAs and was eager to try it. I guess it originally was brewed by a brewery called Blind Pig, but now it’s made by Russian River. Anyway, it was very delicious, with a strong citrus aftertaste.

Next I had a Pipe’s IPA, made by Pizza Port Solana Beach and served on nitro. The nitro gave it a smooth creaminess similar to a Boddington’s or maybe a Guinness, but the taste was bitter like an IPA. An excellent combination, though I don’t know I’d want to drink a whole growler full of it.

After that, it was a Black Lie IPA, also from Pizza Port. It was black like a stout and bitter like an IPA. another winner, though I didn’t like it quite as much as the Blind Pig or the Pipe’s.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer talk

Leave a Reply

